Commissioner, Panchayat Raj

Commissioner, Panchayat Raj

Government of Andhra Pradesh

Programs > Schemes > Rurban > Guidelines


             The Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India has informed that the Union Cabinet have approved the Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) on 16.09.2015. Now Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) is renamed as National Rurban Mission (NRuM).

              The Government of India has launched National Rurban Mission (NRuM), aimed at developing rural areas by provisioning of economic, social and physical infrastructure facilities. The vision of NRuM is to Develop a cluster of villages that preserve and nurture the essence of rural community life with focus on equity and inclusiveness without compromising with the facilities perceived to be essentially urban in nature, thus creating a cluster of Rurban villages.

              A Rurban cluster, would be a cluster of geographically contiguous villages with a population of about 25000 to 50000 in plain and coastal areas and with a population of 5000 to 15000 in desert, hilly or tribal areas.As far as practicable, clusters of villages would follow administrative convergence units of Gram Panchayats and shall be within a single block/tehsil for administrative convenience.

The following components are envisaged as desirable in each cluster :

1. Skill development training linked to economic activities
2. Agro Processing, Agri Services, Storage and Warehousing.
3. Fully equipped mobile health unit.
4. Upgrading school/ higher education facilities.
5. Sanitation
6. Provision of piped water supply.
7. Solid and liquid waste management.
8. Village streets and drains.
9. Street lights
10. Inter-village road connectivity.
11. Public transport
12. LPG gas connections
13. Digital literacy.
14. Citizen Service Centres (CSC) - for electronic delivery of citizen centric services/e-gram connectivity.

          In order to achieve the above envisaged outcome, under NRuM, the State Government shall identify existing Central Sector, Centrally Sponsored and State Government Schemes relevant for the development of the cluster and converge their implementation in an integrated and time bound manner.

The funding for Rurban Clusters will be through convergence of various existing schemes of the Central and State Government.

         The NRuM will provide an additional funding support of up to 30 percent of the project cost or Rs.30 crores per cluster, whichever is lesser for plain areas and Rs. 15 crores per cluster or 30 percent of the project cost in desert, hilly and tribal areas, as Critical Gap Funding (CGF) to enable development of such Rurban Clusters.

NRuM - Phase I Rurban Clusters (2015-16):

The following 5 Clusters identified by the SLEC, AP have been approved by the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India under NRuM Phase I for the year 2015-16:

Sl.No Name of the District Name of the Cluster Category
1 Anantapur Kambadur Non - Tribal
2 Chittoor Kuppam Non- Tribal
3 Prakasam Singarayakonda Non - Tribal
4 SPSR Nellore Venkatachalam Non - Tribal
5 Visakhapatnam Araku Valley Tribal

The ICAPs of all the 5 approved Rurban has been approved by the Ministry of Rural Development, Govt. of India and amount of Rs. 40.50 Crores released as 1st installment of Critical Gap Fund (CGF) by the Ministry of Rural Development, Govt. of India has been received.

NRuM-Phase I Clusters €”Investment €“CGF €”Convergence details :
1 Anantapur Kambadur 127.59 30.00 97.59 9.00
2 Chittoor Kuppam 108.79 30.00 78.79 9.00
3 Prakasam Singarayakonda 115.15 30.00 85.15 9.00
4 SPSR Nellore Venkatachalam 118.89 30.00 88.89 9.00
5 Visakhapatnam Araku Valley 100.17 15.00 85.17 4.50
Total 570.59 135.00 435.59 40.50

The DPRs are the good for execution documents contain the detailed design and costing of the project components in line with the norms and requirements of relevant scheme guidelines.

Preparation of DPRs for the individual components as identified in the ICAP is under preparation by all the Phase I clusters

Phase II :

Sl.No Name of the Cluster Name of the District Category
1 Alur Kurnool Non - Tribal
2 Nandalur YSR Kadapa Non- Tribal
3 Garividi Vizianagaram Non - Tribal
4 Sompet Srikakulam Non - Tribal
5 Nuzendla Guntur Non - Tribal
6 Chanderlapadu Krishna Non - Tribal

All the Phase II Clusters are in the process of preparation of ICAPs

The ICAP is the key document covering baseline studies outlining the requirements of the cluster and the key interventions needed to address these needs and to leverage its potential.

It indicates the resources to be converged under various Central Sector, Centrally Sponsored schemes and State sector schemes and the tentative project timelines for development of Cluster and proposed outcomes to be achieved.